National Advisory Panel

Most Recent Members

James Anderson
Edward William and Jane Marr Gutsgell Professor
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Wallace Boston 
American Public University System

Molly Corbett Broad 
Former President
American Council on Education

Judith Eaton
Former President
Council for Higher Education Accreditation

Richard Ekman
Council of Independent Colleges

Keston Fulcher
Director of the Center for Assessment and Research Studies
Associate Professor, Graduate Psychology
James Madison University

Paul Gaston, III
Trustees Professor
Kent State University

Mildred Garcia 
American Association of State Colleges and Universities

Susan Johnston
President and CEO
National Association of College and University Business Officers

Norman Jones
Retired Professor
Utah State University

Peggy Maki
Higher Education Consultant 

George Mehaffy
Senior Advisor
Sova Solutions

Lynn Pasquerella
Association of American Colleges & Universities

George Pernsteiner
Former President
State Higher Education Executive Officers Association

Mary Ellen Petrisko
Former President
WASC Senior College and University Commission

Kent Phillippe 
Associate Vice President, Research and Student Success
American Association of Community Colleges

Robert Sheets
Research Professor
George Washington Institute of Public Policy

Ralph Wolff
Founder and President
The Quality Assurance Commons for Higher and Postsecondary Education

Peter Ewell
President Emeritus

Pat Hutchings
NILOA Senior Scholar

Stan Ikenberry
President Emeritus and Regent Professor
University of Illinois

Natasha Jankowski
Director, NILOA
Research Associate Professor

George Kuh
Founding Director, NILOA
Adjunct Research Professor, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Chancellor’s Professor Emeritus, Indiana University

Paul Lingenfelter
President Emeritus
State Higher Education Executive Officers Association

Titles are from position at time of service.

Joseph Alutto
Distinguished Professor of Organizational Behavior
Fisher College of Business
The Ohio State University

Trudy W. Banta
Professor of Higher Education
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Douglas C. Bennett
Earlham College

Robert M. Berdahl
Association of American Universities

Joni Finney
Practice Professor, University of Pennsylvania
Vice President, National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education

Stephen Jordan
Metropolitan State University Denver

Mary Kalantzis
Dean, College of Education
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Margaret Miller
Professor, University of Virginia
Editor, Change Magazine

Charlene Nunley
Doctoral Program Director
Professor Doctor of Management in Community College Policy and Administration
University of Maryland University College

Carol Schneider
President Emerita
Association of American Colleges and Universities

David Shulenburger
Senior Fellow
Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

Randy Swing
Executive Director
Association for Institutional Research

Michael Tanner
Chief Academic Officer/Vice President
Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

Belle Wheelan
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

George Wright
Prairie View A&M University